Drunk Driving Penalties Iowa OWI – DUI – DWI Penalties
There are three levels of Iowa OWI charges, also known as drunk driving. The Drunk Driving –
OWI laws in Iowa provide the following three levels:
- OWI 1st Offense – Serious Misdemeanor
- OWI 2nd Offense – Aggravated Misdemeanor
- OWI 3rd Offense – Class D Felony
The number is determined by how many OWI convictions you have in the past twelve years. So the “look back” period is 12 years. If this is your 4th time in the past ten years, you will be charged with 3rd Offense OWI – a Class D Felony because 3rd offense is the maximum level for OWI charges in Iowa. It could be your sixth time in the past 12 years, you will be charged with 3rd Offense.
Iowa law was amended in 2019. If you pick up a 3rd OWI conviction, which is a Class D Felony, and you have two prior felony convictions, you can be sentenced to 15 years in prison as a “habitual offender”.
Our free OWIbuster.com Consequences Program will provide you with a complete and detailed analysis of your. The program will send you an email of all the consequences you are facing. The range of penalties under various facts and circumstances of Iowa’s OWI laws are staggering. That is why we created the free program.
Iowa Drunk Driving – OWI Laws – DUI Laws and Definitions
Click an item below to learn more about each term.