OWI Checklist Iowa
Rule number one when charged with drunk driving, be a rock star who is going to crash and burn, call one of our lawyers. This is the most important thing you do as soon as possible. You need a lawyer to perfect an appeal of your license suspension. This is very important and you only have 10 days to appeal. You need to understand why this must be done. Call one of our lawyers.
If your charge is later dismissed or you are found not guilty, the Iowa DOT may still act to revoke your driving privileges. Click on our Lawyers link to find a lawyer in your area who can help you. Mention OWIbuster.com for your free, initial consultation.
Appear at all court dates.
When a judge tells you your next court date, you must show up for court. Your lawyer may tell you that you need not appear at certain hearings such as a preliminary hearing, etc. Always follow the instructions of your lawyer. If you cannot reach your lawyer, go to your hearings. The court is not concerned that you forgot or that you claim you didn’t know about it, it is your responsibility to appear when ordered to do so. If you fail to appear, a warrant for your arrest may issue and you may end up sitting in jail.
Ignition Interlock Required
You must have an ignition interlock device installed if you ever intend to drive. Call LifeSafer at 855-527-1597 and mention “OWIbuster.com” to receive your special deal. Free installation. The best rates in the business.
Get it installed as doing so will help you in many ways. First, it will allow you to drive to and from work or to school or to treatment. Secondly, the court has the power to grant you credit of $625 toward your fine if you obtain a TRL.
LifeSafer is head and shoulders above the competitors.
Get SR22 Insurance
If you own a vehicle or ever intend to drive again, you will be required to obtain SR22 insurance. Call our friend, Deb Ewoldt at 641-753-6691. Deb is a licensed, Iowa insurance agent. Tell Deb you found her at OWIbuster.com and she will find you the best deal she can. She has over 40 years of experience in the insurance industry and knows where to look for coverage that will suit you and your circumstances.
Get your substance abuse evaluation completed.
Do not delay in getting this done, especially if the judge ordered you to get it done. In Polk County, if you show up for court and have not completed it as ordered, you will be taken to jail in cuffs. They do the evaluations at the jail and you will sit there until the evaluation is completed. Click Here to go to our Substance Abuse Evaluation page for more information.
Pay your D.O.T. Penalties.
The Iowa D.O.T. will require that you pay various penalties. If you ever intend to drive again, you need to get the penalties paid to the Iowa D.O.T. Call the D.O.T. and ask them what you owe and what you need to do to clear your record.
Do not drive!
If your license is revoked, don’t drive. If you are caught, you will face a new charge and the judge who imposes your sentence won’t be too impressed. You want to see a happy judge, not an angry judge. This is another reason why we recommend that you get your SR22 insurance and ignition interlock – get at Temporary Restricted License folks. It’s the smart thing to do.
Complete the 12 hour class.
Don’t delay getting this done. If you don’t get it done, you won’t get your full operating privileges restored.
Maintain contact with your attorney.
This does not mean to bug him/her every other day. They are busy with other clients. If you have an immediate need for a response to your question, call your lawyer. If the question does not involve an urgent, immediate, need-to-know answer, do not call. Write down your question and at your next appointment, ask your lawyer.
Get your money together.
There is nothing cheap about picking up an OWI in Iowa. If you intend to get the best deal you can with your lawyer, it will not cost near as much as having a trial. To see if there is anything a lawyer can do to help you, call one of our lawyer OWI specialists for a free consult.